Student Awards

Feinberg students, residents and fellows are doing some extraordinary things in the clinical spaces, research labs and out in the community. Here we share internal and external recognition they have received.

Mark Knab, MD, selected as 2016 Dr. Susan Perlman Award Winner

Chief surgery resident Mark Knab, MD, has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the Dr. Susan Perlman Award by the NMH Medical Staff Officers. The Perlman award is given to one senior trainee chosen from all of the senior residents and fellows in the institution who shows not only academic excellence, but has special leadership skills and compassion for patients.


Bradley Allen, MD, awarded RSNA Research Grant

Bradley Allen, MD has been awarded an Radiological Society of North America Research & Education Foundation Resident Research Grant. This grant will provide funding for Allen’s research project entitled​: ​”Cardiac MRI and PET for Early Diagnosis and Screening in Chemotherapy-induced Cardiotoxicity.” Allen is a second-year resident in the Department of Radiology and is mentored in this work by James Carr, MD and Daniel Procissi, PhD, both faculty in the Department of Radiology.


Soojeong Cho, PhD, Awarded SIR Pilot Research Grant

The Society of Interventional Radiology Foundation has awarded Soojeong Cho, PhD with the Pilot Research Grant. The Pilot Research Grant will provide her with funding for her research project: “Tumor Associated Macrophage (TAM) – Targeted Radiosensitizers for 90Y Radioembolization”. Cho is a post-doctoral fellow to Dong-Hyun Kim, PhD, assistant professor of Radiology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.


Shuang Zhang, DGP student, receives Presidential Fellowship

Shuang Zhang, Driskill Graduate in the Life Sciences, a student in Dr. Edward Thorp’s Lab, received a Presidential Fellowship. The Presidential Fellowship is the most prestigious fellowship awarded to graduate students at Northwestern. It is funded by the President of the University and awarded by The Graduate School. Zhang was inducted into the Society of Fellows in April.


Kristine Paik, MD, receives the American Academy of Pediatrics Resident Research Award

Resident Kristine Paik, MD received the American Academy of Pediatrics Resident Research Award(AAP) for her study “Incidence, independent predictors, and outcomes of unplanned, postoperative intubation in the pediatric patient” at the Society for Pediatric Anesthesia (SPA) 2016 meeting.


Richard Matulewicz, MD, MS, recieves AAMC Clinical Care Innovation Pilot Award

Urology Resident, Richard Matulewicz, MD, MS, received the AAMC Clinical Care Innovation Pilot Award with co-author faculty member, Joshua Meeks, MD, PhD for “The Hematuria Initiative: A Step Towards a ‘Learning Health System.” The Clinical Care Innovation (CCI) Awards recognize and support the efforts of teaching hospitals and academic medical centers in advancing care delivery and improving quality through the integration of education and research.

1 2 3 4 5 6 8