Student Awards

Feinberg students, residents and fellows are doing some extraordinary things in the clinical spaces, research labs and out in the community. Here we share internal and external recognition they have received.

James Babana, NU-DPT Class of 2018, will serve as the 2016-2017 president of the Student Special Interest Group (SSIG) for the Illinois Physical Therapy Association (IPTA). James was elected by his peers to lead the SSIG which is comprised of over 900 PT and PTA students across Illinois.


Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery 40th Annual Resident Research Symposium and awards

The Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery recognized the outstanding achievement of medical students and residents: Dr. Matthew Purkey received the Harold J. Pelzer, MD Medical Student Award, 2016 recognizing a student for outstanding achievement on the Otolaryngology rotation, and Dr. Zafar Sayed received the Jack Kerth, MD Resident Excellence in Teaching Award, 2016 recognizing a resident for outstanding achievement in teaching medical students and junior residents.

40th Annual Resident Research Symposium
1st Place Winner: Dr. Jacqueline Greene, “Neural Engineering and Regeneration in Otolaryngology”
2nd Place Winner: Dr. Elisabeth Ference, “Measurement and Comparison of Health Utility Assessments in Chronic Rhinosinusitis”


Four Vascular Surgery Trainees Given Teaching Awards

Four trainees in the Division of Vascular were presented with teaching awards at the 2016 Edelstone-Bendix Day. Mila Ju, MD, Dustin Yoon, MD, and Courtney Morgan, MD, received the 2016 Resident as Teacher Award, and Micah Girotti, MD, received the 2016 Fellow as Teacher award. The award are given to housestaff who are “excellent role models, clinicians and learners to their peers, students, and other health professionals.”


Neel Mansukhani MD awarded Best Resident Basic Science Research Award at 2016 Edelstone Bendix Research Day

Neel Mansukhani MD won the Best Resident Basic Science Research Award at the 2016 Edelstone Bendix Research Day for his paper “Targeted Nanotherapeutics for the Treatment of Atherosclerosis”. Neel is a third-year vascular surgery resident currently in his first research year.


Abstracts selected as the winners to the open competitions for the 2016 Edelstone-Bendix Award Winners

The following abstracts have been selected as the winners to the open competitions by the 2016 Edelstone-Bendix Awards Selection Committee:
Fellow Competition
The Effect of BMI on OR Utilization in Breast Surgery
Julie Dunderdale, M.D. – Fellow, Breast Surgery

Resident Clinical Research Competition
Fear versus Knowledge: A Qualitative Assessment of the Effect of Medical Malpractice Environment on Surgical Clinical Practice
Christina Minami, M.D. – Resident, General Surgery

Resident Basic Science Research Competition
Targeted NANOtherapeutics for treatment of atherosclerosis
Neel Mansukhani, M.D. – Resident, Vascular Surgery


NU Sweeps National Kidney Foundation Debate

Northwestern beat out the University of Illinois at Chicago in the National Kidney Foundation of Illinois’ “Controversies in Nephrology: An Academic Debate” on May 19, 2016. The Northwestern team, mentored by Yusra Cheema, MD and Jennifer Tuazon, MD, consisted of Khurram Saleem, MD and Khaled Boobes, MD. Saleem and Boobes argued on the PRO side of the topic: “Steroids are an effetive treatment for IgA nephropathy”. Their knowledge and expertise propelled Northwestern to win the debate of the assigned topic, and be chosen as the audience favorite for both the assigned topic and the entire debate.


Mark Knab, MD, selected as 2016 Dr. Susan Perlman Award Winner

Chief surgery resident Mark Knab, MD, has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the Dr. Susan Perlman Award by the NMH Medical Staff Officers. The Perlman award is given to one senior trainee chosen from all of the senior residents and fellows in the institution who shows not only academic excellence, but has special leadership skills and compassion for patients.

1 2 3 4 5 8