Honors & Appointments


Honors & Appointments

Kathleen J. Green, PhD, Joseph L. Mayberry Sr. Professor of Pathology and Toxicology, presented the Tanioku Memorial Lecture at the Japanese Society for Investigative Dermatology’s 2006 annual meeting.

Catherine A. Wicklund, MS, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, is president of the National Society of Genetic Counselors.

Richard K. Burt, MD, associate professor of medicine, was named by Scientific American as one of the Scientific American 50 for outstanding technological and scientific leadership.

Joel M. Press, MD, associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation, is president of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

Diane Bronstein Wayne, MD, assistant professor of medicine, has been named deputy editor of the Journal of General Internal Medicine, with a focus on medical education.

June M. McKoy, MD, JD, MPH, assistant professor of medicine, has been elected a fellow of the American Geriatric Society.

Hank S. Seifert, PhD, professor of microbiology—immunology, was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Patricia G. Spear, PhD, John Evans Professor of Microbiology—Immunology, has been elected to the academy’s board of governors.

Jamie Collings, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine, received the national teaching award from the American College of Emergency Physicians at its 2006 annual meeting.

Russell G. Robertson, MD, professor and chair of family medicine, was elected chair of the Council on Graduate Medical Education.

John P. Kenney, DDS, MS, associate professor of clinical surgery, is completing his term as president of the American Board of Forensic Odontology and was elected a trustee of the Forensic Sciences Foundation.

H. Hunt Batjer, MD, Michael J. Marchese Professor and chair of neurological surgery, gave the Charles G. Drake Lecture at the Congress of Neurological Surgeons’ meeting in October and is chair of the Maintenance of Certification Committee of the American Board of Neurological Surgery.

Paula H. Stern, PhD, professor of molecular pharmacology and biological chemistry, received the Shirley Hohl Service Award from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research.

David Engman, MD, PhD, associate professor of pathology and of microbiology—immunolgy, has been elected president of the National Association of MD/PhD Directors.

William J. Catalona, MD, professor of urology, received the Golden Glove Award from the National Prostate Cancer Coalition for his work on the use of prostate-screening antigen in the early detection of prostate cancer.

Comments are closed.