Students Recognized with Fellowships


Students Recognized with Fellowships

Four first-year medical students have been selected to participate in the 2002–03 Chicago Schweitzer Fellowship Program. They are Sara B. Busarow of Racine, Wisconsin; Benjamin Levi of Highland Park, Illinois; Carla A. Morgan, of Valparaiso, Indiana: and Anna E. Ringwelski, of Budd Lake, New Jersey. They and 23 colleagues from other Chicago schools will engage in year-long projects to provide health care to underserved populations in Chicago.

Third-year student Shad Thaxton of Las Animas, Colorado, is the recipient of a Howard Hughes Medical Institute student research fellowship. Working with Chad A. Mirkin, PhD, George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Thaxton will study the use of nanoparticles in the biodetection of serum markers.

Ila D. Dayananda, a third-year student from West Lafayette, Indiana, has been accepted to the Doris Duke Clinical Fellowship Program. Through the one-year fellowship, she will return to the University of California at San Francisco to study maternal mortality and abortion safety in Central America.

Comments are closed.